I can also be found at Rotoworld.com and on Twitter @RyanGolfBlogger.

Sunday, March 22, 2015

Valero Texas Open - Preview

The Valero Texas Open leads off the Texas two-step as the final run up to the Masters, and here is a preview to get you off and running in your research.

Steven Bowditch broke through last season in what was the fifth edition contested at TPC San Antonio. TPC San Antonio is a par-72 layout stretching out to a respectable 7,435 yards. It has been the host venue for the last five years, and all research on course history should only include those five years. As one would expect with a par 72, there are the traditional number of par 3s (4) and 5s(4), with the remaining 10 being par 4s.

Here is a list of winners and runners-up since TPC San Antonio has hosted.

  • 2010 - Winner: Adam Scott (14-under 274) over Freddie Jacobson (275)
  • 2011 - Winner: Brendan Steele (280) over Kevin Chappell and Charley Hoffman (281)
  • 2012 - Winner: Ben Curtis (279) over Matt Every and John Huh (281)
  • 2013 - Winner: Martin Laird (274) over Rory McIlroy (276)
  • 2014 - Winner: Steven Bowditch (280) over Will MacKenzie and Daniel Summerhays (281)

For the most part, that list is comprised of solid ball-strikers. Most of them possess above-average length. The last two edition of this event have moved to just ahead of the Masters instead of behind it, meaning the field has enjoyed a step up in class. 

I find stats to be a moving target in this event, but will likely lean on metrics such as strokes gained: tee-to-green and different scoring averages. Proximity is also worth a look, as I recall some of these greens having some very distinct slopes and tiers. 

More than most weeks, I will lean on course history and current form above stats.

We will return in the next few days with this week's power ranking. Until then, happy research!

No comments:

Post a Comment