I can also be found at Rotoworld.com and on Twitter @RyanGolfBlogger.

Sunday, March 8, 2015

Valspar Championship - Preview

The Valspar Championship is next up on the PGA TOUR schedule and represents the third leg of the Florida Swing, and here is a preview to get you off and running. 

The Copperhead Course at Innisbrook Resort is the familiar setting. It is a par-71 layout, stretching out to 7,340 yards. While it plays to a par of 71, it still has four par 5s. The difference is that it also offers five par 3s to go with nine par 4s. 

Four of the five par 3s measure 200 yards or longer, with the exception being 195 yards. It also doesn't skimp on the yardage of the par 5s, with the yardages ranging from 560-605 yards. Oh, and only one of the par 4s measures less than 420 yards. 

That could lead one to believe that distance is the key, much like Doral last week, but that isn't necessarily the case. There are examples of long players doing well, but the real formula seems to be above-average length mixed with solid mid-iron play and an ability to scramble. The problem is, it's hard to determine solid mid- and long-iron play based off stats. While there are boutique stats available, they are just that. 

Here is a look at the winners and runners-up dating back to 2005:
  • 2005 - Winner: Carl Pettersson (9-under 275) over Chad Campbell (276)
  • 2006 - Winner: K.J. Choi (271) over Paul Goydos and Brett Wetterich (275)
  • 2007 - Winner: Marc Calcavecchia (274) over John Senden and Health Slocum (275)
  • 2008 - Winner: Sean O'Hair (280) over Stewart Cink, Ryuji Imada, Troy Matteson, Billy Mayfair, George McNeill and John Senden (282).
  • 2009 - Winner: Retief Goosen (276) over Charles Howell III and Brett Quigley (277)
  • 2010 - Winner: Jim Furyk (271) over K.J. Choi (272)
  • 2011 - Winner: Gary Woodland (269) over Webb Simpson (270)
  • 2012 - Winner: Luke Donald (271) over Sangmoon Bae, Jim Furyk and Robert Garrigus (playoff)
  • 2013 - Winner: Kevin Streelman (274) over Boo Weekley (276)
  • 2014 - Winner: John Senden (277) over Kevin Na (278)

As you can see, that list has a little bit of everything. 

We will put together our usual formula of course history, current form and relevant statistics in an effort to put together the best power ranking possible. 

Until then, happy research!


  1. When are the power rankings coming out? Thanks